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Ceriified Counselor and Adyviser
Fee Cost Drivers

The Department of Health works to protect and improve the
health of all people in Washington State. We accomplish this
work, in part, through regulation of health care providers
and facilities, including certified counselors and advisers
(chapter 18.130 RCW).

State law, RCW 43.70.250 (license fees for professions,
occupations, and businesses), requires fees to fully fund the
work of licensing and regulating health care professions.
Considering the financial forecast, the program requires a
fee increase to bring revenue into alignment with the cost

of licensing and regulating certified counselors and advisers.

The program ended fiscal year (FY) 2021 with a fund balance
of negative $1.55 million. The program’s revenue is
forecasted to cover expenditures but will fail to produce a

Agency Affiliated Counselor Program
positive fund balance and build the required reserves within Health Systems Quality Assurance

the next six years. This document summarizes data on Washington State Department of Health
revenue, expenditures, fund reserve, cost drivers, financial
forecast, and the proposed fees.


https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.70.250

Revenue

As of July 2022, the department licensed 383 active counselors and advisers in Washington
state (chapter 18.19 RCW ). This profession is becoming obsolete in Washington state and

currently does not receive enough new applicants to replace licensees leaving the profession.
Over the past three years, the program has declined at an annual rate of 4.2 percent. The
program received 98 new applicants in 2022 and 362 renewals, leading to a three percent
decline in licensees from the prior year. The program has a licensee annual renewal rate
around 79 percent.

Annual certification fees charged at initial application and renewal generate revenue for this
program (WAC 246-810-990). The last fee change occurred in November 2020, increasing the

certified counselor application fee from $255 to $345 and annual renewal fee from $225 to
$305. It increased the certified adviser registration fee from $210 to $285 and the annual
renewal fee from $185 to $250. This 2020 fee increase was intended to raise the program’s
revenue to the level necessary to cover operating costs. It was not intended to recover the
program’s negative fund balance. The history for certified counselor and adviser fees is as

follows:
Fees: Rate Change History
License Title of Fee Effective Effective Effective
Type 07/01/14 04/01/18 11/01/20
Application and initial license $160 $255 $345
Certified
Certification renewal $140 $225 $305
counselor
Late renewal penalty S50 $115 $155
Application and initial license $130 $210 $285
Certified
. Certification renewal S115 $185 $250
adviser
Late renewal penalty S50 S50 $125

In the year following the 2018 fee increase, fee revenue
increased 25 percent from $101,000 to $126,000.
Revenue declined to $118,000 in FY 2020 and then
increased in FY 2021 to $120,000 due to the

November 2020 fee change. In FY 2022, revenue

grew 15 percent, totaling $138,600. This revenue
growth occurred despite declining licensees.



https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.19
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-810-990

Expenditures

Costs for the program are classified into four primary categories: operations (14 percent),
licensing (29 percent), discipline (38 percent), and indirect costs (19 percent). The
percentages reflect the distribution of these costs in FY 2021.

Operational costs account for 14 percent of total
program spending and includes personnel to

manage the program. This includes

Disciplinary
38%

administrative oversight and program
Indirect

management, communication and outreach, e
o

development and implementation of legislation

Licensing
29%

and rules, relations with interested parties, and

the operation of the profession’s advisory Operations

committee. 14%

Licensing activities account for 29 percent of total program spending and include the
following services: credentialing, renewals, call center; online licensing (OLIC); background
checks and revenue processing.

Discipline costs are the largest category of spending (38 percent) and include the following
activities: legal services; legal compliance; complaint intake; investigations; discipline case
management; adjudicative services; and Attorney General costs. These costs are variable from
year-to-year and are charged to the program based on number of credentials and usage rates

for the various services.




Indirect costs (19 percent) are agency-wide, general management costs necessary for any

program to exist and consist of administrative activities for the general operation of the agency.

Examples of indirect costs include financial services, human resources, and information

resource management. The indirect rate is a standardized method of charging individual

programs for their share of indirect costs and is reviewed and approved annually by the U.S.

Department of Health and Human Services.

The HELMS (Healthcare Enforcement and Licensing Management System) assessment is a

temporary cost that is assessed against the fund balance of each healthcare profession and

facility that will benefit from the new modernized electronic licensing system that is replacing

the department’s current system (ILRS). The assessment is charged annually for the duration
of the project (FY 2021 through FY 2023).

The table below shows expenditures for each of these cost categories over the past six years.

Program Spending by Category

Fiscal Year 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Operations 29,808 26,233 35,156 21,962 14,144 14,573
Licensing 33,349 33,051 31,418 32,749 28,316 29,206
Discipline 47,994 50,679 42,625 45,655 35,521 38,799
Indirect 27,021 28,491 28,338 26,022 20,413 19,643
Subtotal 138,173 138,453 137,538 | 126,388 98,394 102,222
HELMS Assessment 952 6,208
Total 138,173 138,453 137,538 | 126,388 99,346 108,430




Cost Drivers

The cost to license and regulate certified counselors and advisers has decreased an average of
five percent each year since FY 2016. As the license base shrinks, the amount of time needed
to manage and regulate the program decreases as well, leading to less licensing and operation
costs.

Additionally, the number of disciplinary cases received by the program since 2016 has dropped
from 34 to 17, leading to less investigations opened and less billable hours as those cases
make their way through the disciplinary process.

Licensee Decline
The program has consistently lost licensees over the last seven years. In 2016, the program

licensed five certified advisers and 579 certified counselors. The program has experienced an 8
percent average annual decline since 2016, with licensees dropping 15 percent in 2020. This
decline in licensees leads to diminishing revenue.

Program Deficit

When the certified counselor and adviser professions were created out of the registered
counselor profession in fiscal year 2010, the program inherited a portion of the money owed
by the parent program. The registered counselor profession was terminated, and the fiscal
obligation of that profession was distributed based on the prorated share of registered
counselors transferring to each of the new professions. Six percent of the money owed was
transferred to certified counselors and advisers, costing the new program $60,568.

Prior to the recent series of fee increases, the program ran an ongoing operating deficit that
created a negative fund balance. Costs exceeded revenues by an average of $280,000
annually from FY 2011 through FY 2015, and $43,000 annually from 2016 through 2019. As a
result, the program accumulated a negative fund balance of $1.57 million.

Fund Reserve

The Office of Financial Management (OFM) requires agencies to maintain a reasonable
working capital reserve in state accounts to cover fluctuations in cash flow. The cash reserve
should be enough to protect against financial volatility as a result of significant disciplinary
activity or unforeseen changes in license trends.

Due to the size and trajectory of this program, expenditures are prone to significant impacts
resulting from enforcement costs and the occurrence of other unforeseen events. In addition,
as the licensee base declines, incoming revenue becomes less reliable. Based on these
factors, the department recommends the program build a reserve of 60 percent, currently
around $65,000 or approximately seven months of annual expenditures.




Financial Forecast

The certified counselor and adviser program is currently operating with a positive cashflow.
The fee increases in FY 2018 and 2020 provided enough revenue to cover operating expenses
but not enough to fully recover the program’s negative fund balance. The program ended FY
2021 with a fund balance of negative $1,545,081. The program is expected to be short $1.48
million in revenue to cover costs and reserves by FY 2027.

The department expects new application rates to maintain at current levels with no

growth. Routine costs for the program are expected to increase by approximately six percent
in biennium (BI) 2021-23, then less than one percent each biennium thereafter. This expected
increase in Bl 2021-23 is due to statewide compensation adjustments, as well as an increase in
disciplinary costs as the department processes two cases with heightened staff activity and
billable hours.
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Current and projected revenue is insufficient to cover
the cost of licensing and regulating the program while
maintaining adequate reserves. The fund balance will
continue to decline as the shortfall between revenue
and expenditures continues. Therefore, the department
concludes that current fees are not enough to sustain
the cost of operating the program and

meet the statutory requirements.



https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.70.250

Fee Proposal

To address the historic funding deficit of the certified counselor and adviser program, the
department would need to raise application fees by $335 per year and renewal fees by $495
per year, effective June 1, 2023. Late renewal penalties will also increase alongside the
renewal fee in accordance with standard departmental policy. The proposed fees are what the
department has determined are necessary to fund program operations and align the fund
balance with requirements.

Current and Proposed Certified Counselor and Adviser Fees

Profession Title of Fee Current Fee Proposed Fee
Application and License $345 S680

Certified Counselor | Certification Renewal $305 $800
Late Renewal Penalty $155 $300
Application and License $285 $620

Certified Adviser Certification Renewal $250 $745
Late Renewal Penalty $125 $300

Certified Counselor and Adviser Financial Forecast with Fee Proposal
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The department recognizes that the proposed fees, while necessary to bring the program into
compliance with statutory requirements, might create a barrier to licensure and potentially
reduce access to care. This fee change might lead to a further reduction in licensed
practitioners and revenue. However, the department has determined that it must take the
necessary steps to bring this program into compliance with statutory requirements. The
department will continue to monitor the financial health of the program and propose fee
adjustments as needed to comply with state law, RCW 43.70.250.

To request this document in another format,
call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing
customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay)

or



https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.70.250
https://doh.wa.gov/about-us/contact-us#Altformat

